Laurel Fritz wins AASLH Leadership in History Award

PVN's Laurel Fritz and University of Minnesota Professor Greg Donofrio were recently awarded the American Association of State and Local History (AASLH) Leadership in History Award for the Arthur and Edith Lee House Project. "The Leadership in History Award is AASLH’s highest distinction and the winners represent the best in the field,” said Trina Nelson Thomas, AASLH Awards Chair and Director.


The Lee House Project consists of two thematically-related components: 1) a National Register of Historic Places nomination of the Arthur and Edith Lee House (NRHP listed 7/11/14), located in South Minneapolis, Minnesota; and 2) an exhibition titled “A Right to Establish a Home”, which was displayed from August 23, 2014 to January 4, 2015 in the HGA Gallery at the University of Minnesota School of Architecture. The institutional home of the Lee House Project is the University of Minnesota’s College of Design and its Goldstein Museum of Design. Partner institutions included a local neighborhood association, the Field Regina Northrop Neighborhood Group (FRNNG), and the Minnesota Historical Society (MNHS), which provided grant funding for National Register nomination. 

Arthur and Edith Lee House. Photo credit: Morgan Sheff Photography

Arthur and Edith Lee House. Photo credit: Morgan Sheff Photography

The Lee House Project embraced and advanced an approach to heritage that seeks to understand the meanings and uses of history and historic places for communities in the present. The National Register nomination and the exhibition represents a broader national effort to move preservation toward engaging diverse communities in a “shared authority” about historical research, interpretation, and storytelling, based on ideas first set forth by Michael Frisch and applied to preservation by scholars and practitioners like Dolores Hayden and Gail Dubrow.

Greg and Laurel were also recently featured in the College of Design's spring issue of Emerging, a publication distributed to students, faculty and staff, and alumni. 

Download a PDF of the 2015 Leadership in History Awards Winners

PVN StaffLaurel Fritz, Awards